If the article is in the database you will see one of these icons.
underneath the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article.
HINT: Make sure your popup blocker is turned off if you are using the Internet Explorer broswer.
Otherwise you will use the
button
This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in CUNY Libraries. Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.
The SLU Libraries subscribe to over 75 research databases, which can be overwhelming. To make things easier, your librarian recommends using the following core databases for research in these subject areas.
| Subject | Recommended Databases |
| Harlem Renaissance | African American History Online |
| Business | Business Source Complete |
| Sciences | Science Direct |
| Current Topics, Opinions & Arguments | CQ Press Electronic Library, Opposing Viewpoints |
| Music |
Oxford Music Online |
| Education | Education Research Complete |
| Health & Nursing |
Health Source Nursing |
| Art | Oxford Art Online |
| Literary Criticism | Literature Resource Center |
| Literary Plots, Characters, Themes | MagillOn Literature |
| Philosophy | Philosopher's Index |
| Psychology | PsycINFO |
| Social Work | Academic Search Complete |
| Sociology | SocIndex with Full Text |
| Reference Basics (Any Subject) | Virtual Reference Library |
When you can not find the full text of an article or book in print or electronic form you can request the material using interlibrary loan. You need to create an individual account (different from your "My Library Account" in the SLU Libraries Catalog).
Link to Interlibrary Loan web page.