Women's Studies: Finding Reference Information

Reference sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other materials used for quick facts and background information.

For reference information on the Women's Studies, search

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Credo Reference

These are some of the print resources that can be found in the library catalog:

Berry, Daina R, and Deleso A. Alford. Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif: Greenwood, 2012.

Birx, H J. Encyclopedia of Anthropology. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage, 2006.

Hesse-Biber, Sharlene N. Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory and Praxis. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications, 2007.

Keller, Rosemary S, Rosemary R. Ruether, and Marie Cantlon. Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006.

Kramarae, Cheris, and Dale Spender. Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. New York: Routledge, 2000.

Smith, Bonnie G. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History. Oxford [England: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Stein, Marc. Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. New York, NY: Charles Scribner's Sons/Thomson/Gale, 2004.

Whitson, Kathy J. Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2004.

Worell, Judith. Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender. San Diego, Calif: Academic Press, 2001.