LibGuides: Biology: Managing your citations

EndNote

Desktop and web-based software for storing references and creating bibliographies. The EndNote support site includes new and updated import filters and output styles to download. Available to Hunter students, faculty, and staff.
Steeper learning curve than Refworks. Used by many in the biosciences community.

EndNote This link opens in a new window

How to choose reference manager apps

Online Reference Managers | ScienceOnline2010 This link opens in a new window
Recent discussion about web 2.0 apps such as Mendeley, Zotero, etc. and licensed products such as RefWorks and Endnote.

Other citation/document managers

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
Web-based tool that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. Web-based means you can access RefWorks from any computer with Internet access. Access to Refworks is provided by the MEC Library to MEC students, staff, and faculty
Configuring Google Scholar link to Refworks This link opens in a new window
Learn how to set your Google Scholar preferences to import Google Scholar references into your RefWorks library
Mendeley This link opens in a new window
Mendeley is a free online service that allows you to index and organize your PDF documents, collaborate with fellow researchers and share information via shared and public collections, and discover new research through the Mendeley research network. In addition, you can create reference lists and bibliographies in Word (Windows only) or OpenOffice (all platforms).
Zotero This link opens in a new window
Zotero is a (free) Firefox extension that helps manage documents found online through the browser. It collects metadata (including citation information) and stores PDFs, files, images, links, and whole web pages for easier retrieval. Zotero can store a "snapshot" of the document, which may actually be the PDF of the document. Zotero is bound to the installation of Firefox, although those using multiple computers may install Zotero on a portable version of Firefox and travel with their Zotero lib
Papers This link opens in a new window
Low-cost software for Macintosh only
Search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs
Easily export references into citation management tools like EndNote
Import PDFs already on your hard drive
Search results from Papers' single search box may differ from the databases' native search interface