African American Studies: Home

This is a very good starting point for African American Studies

The Largest Electronic Collection of Biographical Information on African Americans. 1790-1950

The African American Biographical Database is a resource of first resort when you are looking for biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, for African Americans. From the famous to the everyday person, AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and illuminating narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.

Topic Centers help students and researchers find new ways to explore the vast amount of content in the database. Each Topic Center is composed of hand-picked entries on people, events and topics, primary sources, and further resources such as images, maps and graphs, and chronologies. The linked entries have been specifically chosen to provide a broad, inclusive look at an era. Each entry in a Topic Center also includes links to related entries.

The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper

For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing.

This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.

Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.

Content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

Covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology, among others.

Includes the Museum on the Web - the online experience of the new National Museum of African American History and Culture. Stories of African American History conceived as a fully virtual precursor to the museum to be built on the Washington Mall.

Welcome to the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a unique database detailing the rich tapestry of the African experience throughout the Americas. Explore interdisciplinary topics through in-depth essays; read the seminal research and timelines that accompany each topic; and search for images and film clips to provide another dimension to your research. Investigate both historical viewpoints and new methodologies to better understand the complex nature of Black Studies today.