LibGuides: Hip Hop Resources: Finding Journal Articles

Where is my article?

If the article is in the database you will see one of these icons.

underneath the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article.

HINT: Make sure your popup blocker is turned off if you are using the Internet Explorer broswer.

Otherwise you will use the

button

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in CUNY Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Interdisciplinary Resources

These databases don't focus soley on Hip Hop, but they do index relevant journals. Includes scholarly and general publications.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary full-text database. Full text of over 8,700 journals, including 7,600 peer-reviewed journals, with indexing for another 4,000 titles. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two. Also includes the text of books, conference papers, conference proceedings, and educational reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of JSTOR offer the full text of 2,400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of most journals and continues through varying periods within the last five years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
316 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. CUNY does not subscribe to Project Muse Books.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 14,000 journals including more than 10,000 peer reviewed and reference sources in all subjects, with text from over 6,500 publications.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides useful information for researchers in social science, history or liberal arts courses. This collection contains more than 100 subject appropriate full text periodicals and other sources.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, literature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of 514 journals in communications and media, as well as citations from several hundred additional titles.

Interlibrary Loan

When you can not find the full text of an article or book in print or electronic form you can request the material using interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary Loan This link opens in a new window