The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent agency of the United States government that preserves and documents government and historical records. NARA is headquartered in the National Archives Building in Washington, D.C. and publicly exhibits Charters of Freedom, which include the original United States Declaration of Independence, United States Constitution, United States Bill of Rights, and many other historical documents.
The image is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.
The New York State Archives preserves and makes accessible over 250 million records of New York’s State and colonial governments dating from 1630 to the present.
The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements. The collection includes weekly news, poetry, music programs; in-depth interviews and reports on social and cultural issues; numerous voices from behind prison walls; diverse activists; and pamphlets, journals and other materials from many radical organizations and movements.
Established in 1977, the Department of Records and Information Services (DORIS) preserves and provides public access to historical and contemporary records and information about New York City government. DORIS operates the Municipal Archives, the Municipal Library, and the Records Center.
With authoritative content and powerful search technologies, this platform has been designed to help students and researchers examine literary, political, and social culture of the last 500 years and develop a more meaningful understanding of how history continues to impact the world today.
The Digital Collections of the Library of Congress provide access to online collections: maps and photographs; letters, diaries, and newspapers; personal accounts of events; sound recordings and historic films.
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
This website provides primary sources for use in classroom activities from the National Archives.
Established in 2010, the James J. Ross Archive of African Images (RAAI) contains approximately 5000 images of figurative African art published before 1921. The Archive aspires to include all figurative African objects in books, periodicals, catalogues, and other publications appearing prior to 1921 - the oldest dates to 1591.