Hip Hop Resources: Finding Books in the Library

Search for books in Worldcat, which has holdings of thousands of American and international libraries.

Full text of hundreds of reference books. Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.

Search using the keyword "Hip Hop" for essays, histories, and biographies of important figures in Hip Hop.

Comprehensive collection of reference works and scholarship focusing on the lives and events of African Americans and African history and culture. Contains more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Also has over 2,500 images and more than 450 primary sources. You can choose to view specific categories when searching like biographies, primary sources, images, maps, etc.

Contains 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes offering comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, rhythm and blues, hip hop and other forms of black American musical expression. Includes 42,612 essays and images from 162 sources.

Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience has a wide depth and breadth of information on African American history and culture.

Ref ML 102 R27 B96 2006

The most comprehensive book on B-Boying to date, written by Joseph G. Schloss, available as an E-book at all CUNY libraries. Click on the Medgar Evers link to access.

Book about Puerto Ricans and their contribution to Hip Hop since it started in the early 1970s, by Raquel Rivera. F128.9 .P85 R585 2003

Approximately 68,000 electronic books in all disciplines from major publishers. CUNY's largest e-book collection.