LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): English

Compact Anthology of World Literature
Broad-ranging anthology of world literature from ancient times through the 17th century.
Compact Anthology of World Literature II
Contains texts from the seventeenth century through the contemporary era. Note that most texts after 1923 remain in copyright, and can be downloaded.
The Open Anthology of Earlier American Literature (to 1899)
Anthology created by Robin DeRosa and her students at Plymouth State University. A great example of a collaborative and ever-evolving open educational resource.

MERLOT - Literature
MIT Open Courseware - Literature
OER Commons - English Literature
Open Textbook Library - Literature
Contains several anthologies and collections
Galileo -Literature
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most of the items in its collection are full texts of books in the public domain. Searching such terms as “literature,” “English literature,” etc. will produce large collections of useful results.

Composition | Anthology
This Composition Reader is an edited, curated collection of OER material consisting of personal essays, literature, video and audio files, web writing, and long-form journalism.

Becoming America: An Exploration of American Literature from Precolonial to Post-Revolution
The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you Becoming America: An Exploration of American Literature from Precolonial to Post-Revolution. Featuring sixty-nine authors and full texts of their works, the selections in this open anthology represent the diverse voices in early American literature. This completely-open anthology will connect students to the conversation of literature that is embedded in American history and has helped shaped its culture.
Writing the Nation: A Concise Introduction to American Literature 1865 to Present
This text surveys key literary movements and the American authors associated with the movement. Topics include late romanticism, realism, naturalism, modernism, and modern literature.
Writing and Literature: Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking, and Communication
This text builds a new conversation covering various genres of literature and writing. Students learn the various writing styles appropriate for analyzing, addressing, and critiquing these genres including poetry, novels, dramas, and research writing. The text and its pairing of helpful visual aids throughout emphasizes the importance of critical reading and analysis in producing a successful composition.

Communication for Business Success
Business Communication for Success provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.