LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Nursing

Departments

Nursing

Textbooks

Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors.
Innovative Lesson Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice
Innovative Lessons Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Research and Evidence-Based Practice is a resource in research and evidence-based practice for active learning in the undergraduate nursing classroom. It is meant to supplement any nursing research text. Designed to provide educators with creative teaching ideas, this text includes a variety of lessons on nursing research topics. Topics include bias, measurement, sampling, theory and more. Lessons provide active learning for in-class, hybrid, and online formats
Nursing Fundamentals
This book introduces the entry-level nursing student to the scope of nursing practice, various communication techniques, and caring for diverse patients. The nursing process is used as a framework for providing patient care based on the following nursing concepts: safety, oxygenation, comfort, spiritual well-being, grief and loss, sleep and rest, mobility, nutrition, fluid and electrolyte imbalance, and elimination.
Nursing Pharmacology
This open access Nursing Pharmacology textbook is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes.
Nursing Skills, Second Edition
This open textbook is designed for use in both practical/vocational nursing programs, as well as for first-year courses in programs preparing students to become registered nurses.
Nutrition for Nurses
Nutrition for Nurses is structured to support the flexible integration of nutrition content across both system-based and nursing competency-based curricula. It can be used whether nutrition is taught as a standalone course or part of another nursing course.

Textbook Collections, Courses, Other Resources

The following collection links will take you directly to current search results for college-level resources in Nursing. The results can be further refined by using the optional filters.

CUNY City Tech Nursing OER
CUNY City Tech has several OER nursing courses. Each course on this site provides a full syllabu, including links to all readings.
more...less...
NYC College of Technology | Nursing Case Management: Role and Process
George Washington University School of Nursing Open Educational Resources
Contains a variety of learning modules from a leading school of nursing.
Merlot - Nursing
Peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
more...less...
ree, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
Nursing Resources from Los Angeles Valley College
A good collection of links to OER nursing resources from the Los Angeles Valley College Library.
OER Commons - Nursing

COMING IN 2024!! Eight peer-reviewed textbooks will be available through the OER Nursing Essentials (O.N.E.) project on OpenStax.org and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board statewide open educational resource repository, OERTX, where faculty communities can connect and collaborate on the materials. More information here.